A European Commission report warns on Tuesday that Canada will need visas for entering any EU member states unless the Ottawa government does not permit all EU members to enter without a visa.

Canada needs to open up its gates by the end of this year for at least one of the new EU member states and make visible progress in eliminating visa requirements up to the first half of next year.

European Commissioners warn to take adequate measures if Canada does not comply. However, the document does not refer to the punitive measures.

Canada permits citizens of Cyprus, Malta, Estonia and Slovenia to enter their territory without a visa but still bans others.

Ambassador’s counselor in Canada, Daniel Ene said the process is time consuming and there are no time limits set.

Canadian officials said that they did not receive the report, nor were they notified of its existence.