The European Commission demanded the 25 member states to suspend the accession negotiations with Turkey by freezing eight of the 35 negotiation chapters. The measure comes due to the continuing refusal of the Ankara authorities to allow Southern Cyprus ships and airplanes to arrive in Turkish ports and airports.

The eight chapters to be frozen are: free circulation of goods, service and capital, as well as the chapters referring to fishing, agriculture, transportation, customs and foreign trade.

Instead of accepting Finland’s trade plan with the Northern Cyprus, in exchange for admitting Southern ships and planes, Turkey only demanded the lifting of the embargo on the Northern Cyprus, with no favors for the Greek side of the island.