Romanian EU Integration minister Anca Boagiu said on Thursday that she received a confirmation that the French Senate would ratify the EU accession treaty of Romania and Bulgaria on October 3.

Only four European states have yet to ratify the treaty: France, Belgium, Denmark and Germany. The latter announced November 24 as the date of the ratification.

The treaty must be ratified by all member states. It says the date of Romania’s accession is January 1, 2007 unless the European Commission recommends the postponement of the accession by one year until January 1, 2008.