The Irish parliament was due to conclude on Thursday the process of ratification of the Accession Treaty of Romania and Bulgaria, bringing Ireland in line with a majority of 17 EU countries that ratified the document so far.

The move comes after the French Council of Ministers adopted a draft legislation on the ratification of the Treaty on Tuesday. The legislation is due to be approved in the two chambers of the French Parliament.