Following Romania and Bulgaria’s scheduled accession into the European Union on January 1, 2007, the citizens of the two countries will be allowed to work in Finland without restrictions, the Finnish Parliament decided on Wednesday, according to Novinite.

The Government justified the proposal to the Finnish Parliament as risk free based on the experiences of Sweden, Great Britain and Ireland which have not imposed any transition periods and have not recorded major problems.

Finland will also lift all working restrictions for the new eight central European member states on May 1, this year, after exactly two years of EU membership for the 8 countries.