The European Commission is to take legal action against 17 EU members that have not implemented the gas and energy regulations regarding competitive market and thus have allowed some companies to create monopolies.

The European Commission said Austria, Belgium, Britain, the Czech Republic, Germany, Estonia, Spain, Finland, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Latvia, Poland, Sweden and Slovakia would receive warnings for failing to adopt the EU regulations, whereas Spain has failed to implement them.

The Energy Commissioner Andris Piebalgs stated that the EU states should not only adopt but also implement the directives, drawing attention to the poor implementation of measures relating to bio-fuels, and the use of renewable energy sources for electricity.