Romania is the only European Union member state to have complied with the new European norms on audio-visual means, that entered into force in December 19, 2007, the European Commission announced on Thursday. The EU directive concerns audio visual services, adapting old EU norms to the new digital developments that need to be implemented at the level of the Union by December 2009.

The other 26 countries within the Union are still undergoing the process of implementing new TV norms. The progress is slow in various member states: some governments did not organize public consultations about the way the new EU forms will function in their country (Denmark, Germany, Italy, Slovenia, Slovakia, Spain).