The European Parliament approved on Tuesday the new team of European Commissioners, lead by Portuguese Jose Manuel Barroso, which includes Romanian Dacian Ciolos, EU Commissioner for Agriculture, AFP informs. The cabinet is formed of 27 commissioners and received a favorable vote with 488 votes for and 137 against.

The new commission is due to start work next week, after a three months of lethargy. The mandate of the current Commissioner's Cabinet ended on October 31, 2009. Dacian Ciolos, proposed by Romania for the Agriculture portfolio was heard in the Agriculture committee in the European Parliament on January 15.